Unbearable Beauty

Before your beauty left me stunned,
Before it pierced my tired eyes,
“Nothing compares to our Sun,”
I would repeat one thousand times,
“And no one born beneath this sky
Will shine as bright as our star!”
So then last night inside a bar
I came along to meet your grace,
Got drunk on smile upon your face,
Got home through Aphrodite’s haze,
Passed out to dream of outer space
Where Saturn whirled its icy rings,
As we waltzed on. I didn’t blink:
It felt like reaching the promised land,
I wished that dream would never end,
Then I woke up with giant wings
Sewn to my back. These weird things
Occurred to me, I think, because
Unbearable your beauty was…

348

Leave a Reply

